Lessons I Learned From My Father

Happy Fathers Day

My father is very special! I hope that yours is too! My dad makes me laugh, takes the time to teach me things, and he loves to get out and enjoy life with me and my siblings! I am pretty sure that he is the best Dad ever!

There are many lessons that I have learned from my Dad, but I’d like to share 3 of the most important things my dad ever taught me!

Work Hard!

Just showing up is not enough! My father taught me the importance of working hard at a very young age! He was always building something, or working on projects! He would often let me help him! I learned that by working hard, great things are accomplished! I learned that if I work hard now, and don’t mess around, that later I can relax and enjoy the satisfaction of a job well done! He taught me to take pride in my work, and to not cut corners! As I get older, people often compliment me on my strong work ethic, and I definitely have my father to thank for that!

Family is the most important thing!

My father implemented the importance of knowing and spending time with family throughout my whole life! We spent a lot of time at my Grandparents’ house, getting to know my cousins, aunts, and uncles! My siblings and I have a very strong bond with our family because of this! Because of those strong family bonds, I have a huge support group to back me up! This is very important and I encourage anyone who doesn’t have a strong bond with their family to change that! A little bit of effort goes a long way!

Always look for ways to help others!

Another lesson I learned from my father was to constantly be on the lookout for ways to help and encourage others! Service was a priority in our family. When someone needed help, we went! We would help the elderly shovel their walks in the winter, and rake their leaves in the fall! We would help people move, fix things, and take meals to people who were sick or hurt. These experiences helped me grow and become a better person. My father is still the first one to volunteer to help when someone is in need! I’m so glad that he taught us the importance of service.

What life lessons have you learned from your father?