Mother’s Day

Photo-of-Mom-with-kid

I love May, not only is it my birthday this month, but the flowers start blooming, and it starts getting warmer. Oh, and because it’s Mother’s Day! I love my mom and I think she is pretty special. To show you just how awesome my mom is I wrote a poem.

My Mom is Awesome!

My mom is awesome!

There’s many ways this is true! Need examples, here’s a few:

She is patient and kind, makes me laugh to unwind.

She loves to have fun- rain, snow, sleet, hail, or sun! 

To others she’s nice, and always gives great advice.

She loves a great deal, and can bait a fishing reel!

She cooks really great food, to feed her big hungry brood!

And why I love her you see, is ‘cause she loves me!

 Cottage potatoes

I hope that you feel like your mom is pretty special too! As you read in the poem, one of the reasons I love my mom is because she cooks really great food! I wanted to share one of her favorite recipes with you!

Cottage Potatoes

5-6 large Klondike Rose® potatoes, boiled diced and cooled

¼ lb. cheddar cheese, diced

5 slices white bread, diced

1 tsp. garlic salt

½ celery salt

2 tbsp. parsley flakes

1/8 tsp. pepper

¼ C. onion, diced

1 cube melted butter

1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Dice the potatoes and boil them for 15 minutes or until tender. Drain and pour into a 9×13 inch casserole dish. Add cubed cheese and bread, salts, parsley, and pepper.

Put diced onion in a microwave safe bowl, put cube of butter on top. Microwave for 2 minutes or until onions start to get tender. Pour over potatoes.

Toss potato mixture together until well mixed. Pour milk over potatoes. Do not stir. Place in preheated oven. Bake at 350°F for 1 hour.