Outdoor Cooking

I love to cook outdoors. Grilling, Dutch oven or over an open fire, everything seems to taste better out in nature. I’m not sure if it really is better, or just that I am starving, but at least it seems to taste better!

One of my favorite ways to cook outdoors is with the Dutch oven. I love its versatility and its many uses. You can bake breads and rolls, cook meat, stews, soups, roasts, chicken, ribs, or sauté veggies, and cook up a delicious au gratin potato. And did you know that you can cook up more than just a simple cobbler for dessert too? Cheesecakes, cakes, cinnamon rolls, and more can all be baked in a Dutch oven. Wow. Now I’m hungry!
Now I’m ready for summer so that I can get outside and get cooking! I am excited to cook with my Dutch oven! In order to get you started with your outdoor cooking, I wanted to share one of my favorite Dutch oven potato recipes! It’s delicious!

11. Dutch oven potatoes

Dutch Oven Potatoes
1 lb. bacon, cut into small pieces
10-12 large Klondike Rose® Potatoes
3 Tbsp. Johnny’s Hunter’s Blend Seasoning Salt
1 can cream of chicken soup
3 c. shredded cheddar cheese

  • When the Dutch oven is hot add the bacon and heat until fully cooked.
  • Drain about half of the bacon grease, and add the potatoes.
  • Add 3 Tbsp. of the seasoning salt blend. Cover and cook about 20-25 minutes stirring occasionally (or until potatoes are no longer crunchy, but do NOT overcook).
  • Add cream of chicken and cheese. Heat through and serve – YUM!